Parashah Emor


This week’s Parashah is one that shows us the progression of the royal priesthood from the Old Testament to the New Covenant with and in Yeshua. In Leviticus 21:1-24:23 Moses delivers the commandments of the Levites and the even more strict commandments to the Kohenim or High priests, who were always the descendants of Aaron due to their devotion to Adonai having not given gold for the golden calf at Mount Sinai and for their zealousness in killing 3000 who continued rebelling against Elohim.

Along with the commandments of the Levites and High Priest, this Parashah describes in plain english the times and seasons of Adonai, the 8 Biblical feasts called Moedim (appointed times), 9 including Shabbat. These set apart times in Scripture are also known as Mikra’ei Kodesh meaning “times in which holiness is proclaimed.” These appointed times are no less important today in the New Covenant than in the Old, as each and every moed has a redemptive purpose and acts as reminders of what was, is, and is yet to come. Clearly we no longer take sacrifices to the temple as Yeshua was the last sacrifice once for all, but this does not mean we are to altogether forget these Holy Days because each of them have direct prophetic parallels with Yeshua the Messiah, His death, Resurrection, and His return. In every case of celebration, it is not to do so out of tradition or a sense of religion, but as the Holy Spirit leads, according to each feast’s meaning today as a royal priesthood of the Most High. These are the 9 feasts in order.

1. Shabbat – From sundown Friday to sundown Saturday
2. Pesach – Passover (Nisan 14)
3. Feast of Unleavened Bread(Nisan 15-22)
4. Counting of the Omer(Nisan 15-Sivan 5) 49 days form Nisan 15 or 7 Shabbats
5. Feast of Firstfruits(Nisan 16)
6. Shavuot – Pentecost (Sivan 6)
7. Yom Teru’ah – Feast of Trumpets (Tishri 1)
8. Yom Kippur – Day of Atonement (Tishri 10)
9. Sukkot – Feast of Tabernacles (Tishri 15-22)

It is also interesting to note that along with there being 9 Biblical feasts, there are also 9 fruits of the Holy Spirit, 9 gifts of the Holy Spirit, and 9 beatitudes that Yeshua spoke at His Sermon on the Mount. Coincidence? Aside from these incredible parallels that bridge the gap between both Old and New Testaments i.e. fulfilling the law through Yeshua and the gift of the Holy Spirit, it is no longer only the Levites and the descendants of the sons of Aaron that are considered a holy priesthood, but according to 1 Peter 2:4-10 “We are living stones rejected by men, but in the sight of God chosen and precious, we ourselves are like living stones being built up as a spiritual house, to be a holy priesthood, to offer spiritual sacrifices acceptable to God through Yeshua Ha’Mashiach.” As we continue the Counting of the Omer this week, the 4th Biblical Feast, and continue the path toward Shavuot we remember how Yeshua walked in His resurrected body in the flesh with the disciples during this time. He was teaching them about the Kingdom, how Scripture reveals Himself at every turn, and their full identity in Him to walk out the fullness of the Gospel in perfect love to the ends of the earth. Let us take this time to ask the the Holy Spirit what it means to live a life as a holy priest, to search the Word, and as we ask, seek, and knock, He tells us we will receive, find, and the door will be opened to us. Adonai bless you and keep you!

Join our Email List Updates


Stay Tuned in Telegram

Join us

Author VdD7

More posts by VdD7

Comment and give us your feedback

All rights reserved